29…

 

When I was a kid, I always thought birthdays were a big deal. There was cake and  dinners and presents and large crowds of people singing a special song just for me! And even after I had entered “adulthood,” there was still singing and cupcakes and free shots. This year, however, was my first birthday as a serious, working adult.  So, yes, there were brownies and cookies, and all sorts of lovely messages from friends and family. But I still woke up, put on my big girl pants, and went to work. And stayed at the office until 8pm. Because (for good reason) when you turn 29,  you don’t get the day off and confetti doesn’t rain from the sky.

Turning 29 also means that I am finally embracing my late 20’s. I am a firm believer that you are in your “early 20’s” from 20-25, in your “mid 20’s” from 26-28, and that you eventually enter your “late 20’s” for one glorious year at 29. And with 30 taunting me from 364 days away, I am using this birthday as a sort of New Years, with reflections and resolutions and, of course, champagne.  I don’t let society and its calendar tell me when to make resolutions! I’m my own person! But seriously, 28 really was a banner year – I graduated from law school and passed the New York bar exam. I moved to Brooklyn and started a terrifying and awesome job. I spent 10 days in Greece with my future husband.

20130709-120827.jpg

I danced at the weddings of people I love, and am proud to call my friends.

image_15

I drank wine on Santorini, in Sonoma, in Napa, and on the North Fork of Long Island.

image_8

29 is looking pretty good, too. I get to marry my best friend this year! And take a fantastic vacation with him!

image_9

And while we’re doing all of that, I am going to keep a few “new years resolutions” in mind. Like maybe eating cleaner? And exercising once in a while? And despite the hectic nature of this career, I want to take more time for the people I love, myself included.

Anyone have advice on how to live the last year of your 20’s? Or other birthday resolutions?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

