Brussels, brussels. Everywhere.

As you may have noticed, I’m a big fan of the brussels sprout. Unfortunately, this is a rather recent discovery (like, past three years). I admit, as a child, my food tastes were…particular. And I easily succumbed to children’s books that declared brussels sprouts and lima beans to be yucky. My parents didn’t cook these vegetables, so any familiarity with them was drawn from the anti-cabbage and anti-bean media.

But now…they’re my favorite. Brussels sprouts are delicious, whether roasted or grilled or fried. Their cabbage shape allows them to soak up all kinds of delicious cooking liquids, most notably butter and bacon fat. How could they not taste delicious?! I have two default ways of preparing brussels sprouts – (1) with garlic and (2) with bacon.

The Garlic Approach consists of tossing halved sprouts with olive oil, minced garlic, salt and pepper. Lay evenly on a baking sheet and roast at 425 until done. BAM! The Bacon Approach consists of frying chopped bacon in a heavy saucepan, then adding halved sprouts before the bacon gets crispy. YUM! The Bacon Approach was validated by Paul Qui on this week’s episode of Top Chef. (Note: my friend Jane educated me on the fine art of quartering your sprouts, thereby increasing the percentage of the sprout that is crispy and delicious, whether frying or roasting).

With the temperature plummeting, there are a few new brussels sprout recipes I’d like to try. They seem to be popping up everywhere! I think it’s the internet’s way of telling me I need to make more sprouts. Which recipe looks best to you?

Dijon-braised Brussels Sprouts from Smitten Kitchen

Thai-style Brussels Sprouts from The Kitchn

Brussels Sprout and Kale Salad from YumSugar

GRILLED Brussels Sprouts with Bacon from Serious Eats

Brussels Sprouts with BEER from Serious Eats

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Brussels, brussels. Everywhere.

  1. Rebecca

    I highly recommend that you try this: http://www.food52.com/recipes/8647_brussels_sprouts_salad_a_la_m_wells

    It is amazing.

    I substitute a dressing made of: whole grain mustard, honey, smoked paprika, cayenne pepper (that piment d’espelette is too hard to come by), olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, and a little white wine or sherry vinegar. Quantities are improvised, and adjusted to taste.

Leave a Reply

